All backup jobs you define are automatically saved so that you can edit or run them later.
After you define a backup and schedule it to run, you can close Norton Ghost. The program does not need to be running for a backup to start.
However, your computer must be turned on and Windows must be running at the time a backup occurs. If not, any scheduled backups are skipped until the computer is turned on again. You then are prompted to run the missed backup.