You can turn off a backup and re-enable it later. When you turn off a backup, it will not run according to its defined schedule, if it has one. When a backup is turned off, triggered events will not run it, nor can you run it manually.
You can also delete a defined backup (not recovery points).
See Deleting backup jobs.
To turn off a backup job
On the Home or Tasks page, click Run or Manage Backups.
Select the backup that you want to turn off.
On the Tasks menu, click Disable Backup.
Repeat this procedure to re-enable the backup. The Disable Backup menu item changes to Enable Backup when you disable the selected backup.
Turning off a backup job